Faculty Member Awarded Composition Prize

October 2nd, 2014 in Event/News with NO COMMENTS

Eva Kendrick, Chair of the Music Center’s Theory and Composition Department, awarded composition prize.

Eva Kendrick, Chair of the Music Center’s Theory and Composition Department, has been awarded the Judith Lang Zaimont Prize for her composition “Juntos” for flute, bassoon, viola by The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM). The piece was commissioned in 2013 by the Anon Ensemble. Each movement of the chamber work is influenced by a different South American dance. Kendrick has received Honorable Mentions in this category before in 2010 and 2011 for her works Sonata for Flute, Clarinet, Oboe and Viola and Against the Grain for wind ensemble and string trio.

The Judith Lang Zaimon Prize is for an extended instrumental composition—large solo or chamber works—by a composer at least 30 years old whose music has not yet been recorded or published.

The IAWM’s 2014 Search for New Music Competition recognizes the accomplishments of IAWM member composers and fosters IAWM’s goal of increasing awareness of the musical contributions of women. IAWM hopes that performers around the world will see the music recognized in the competition as a resource for their own concert programming. There were 60 entrants submitting compositions in 9 categories.

Eva is a versatile, award-winning composer and vocalist. She writes in many genres including opera, chamber music, song cycles, and film music. Along with chairing the Music Theory & Composition Department at the Music Center, Eva is also on the Voice Faculty; Adjunct Faculty in Voice at Dean College; Music Director of First Parish Medfield; Director of the Eva Kendrick Voice Studio and a freelance composer.

Leave a Reply